zoom minus zoom normal zoom plus
Purbach am Neusidler See - Region Neusidlersee-Leithagebirge WORLD HERITAGE NATURE RESERVE
LAKE NEUSIEDL - LEITHA HILLS
deutsch english
Municipality Tourist Info Leisure & Culture Wine Experience Service News & Events
Tourist Info » Attractions    
Attractions
The Purbach Turk
The emblem of Purbach rises above the chimney of a small house - and can be seen from
the main road leading in the direction of Breitenbrunn (Türkenstr. 9).

According to historic records a Turk was sleeping off his drunkenness when his regiment had already left Purbach (1532). Fearing the people of Purbach he hid in a chimney where he was nevertheless discovered and smoked out.

He adopted the Christian faith and was given to the house owner as a servant. After his death the farmer erected the stone bust to be seen on top of the chimney.

Fortified Walls with Three Turk Portals
In 1630 the inhabitants of the market town received the rights from Nikolaus Esterházy to erect a strong fortified wall with three portals around the settlement - the Turk Portal in the west, the Bruck Portal in the northeast and the Rust Portal in the south - which to a great extent still exist. The fortified wall that surrounds the town to this day contains embrasures and is considered the best maintained town fortifications in Burgenland.

Historic Cellar Lane
Vintners built their wine cellars at the foot of the Leitha Range in about 1850. 50 cellars still exist and together form a unique cellar lane that is one of the loveliest localities in the centre of Purbach. The entire diversity of select wines, as well as Pannonian delicacies, is served there.

Town Parish Church of St Nicholas
First mentioned in 1418, the church is a 17th century baroque building with a 53-metre-high north tower, the belfry balcony has a stone balustrade. The church was enlarged with an extension to the west during the overall renovations undertaken in 1984.

Barn Row
The Barn Row runs along the Oberen Bahngasse and comprises typical Burgenland farmers' storehouses. The fortified wall was formerly here. Because a Turkish invasion was no longer feared, these barns were erected with the stones from the fortified wall at the end of the narrow elongated farm buildings.